Parachute Sheets Review 1

Editor’s Note: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.

Learn more about these sheets and get free domestic shipping. Shop Parachute.

I received a free set of Parachute sheets for review. If you’re in the market for a new set of sheets, you need to take a look at Parachute. Parachute was created to offer premium quality bedding at an accessible price. They don’t have any overhead for showrooms and salespeople so that savings is passed on to the consumer. They exude a laid back California vibe that is perfect for your bedroom.

This bedding is made with long staple cotton. The Sheets are dyed in a process that is safe and eco friendly. Their sheets only have Oeko-Tex Certified dyes which means that when you are sleeping in these sheets, you don’t have to wonder if you are sleeping with toxic chemicals and carcinogens.

Their product is designed in the US but actually manufactured in Tuscany Italy by people that have been making high quality bedding for over 60 years. This is truly amazing since many sheets you now find at department stores are manufactures in large factories in China and other countries.

Ordering

You can buy Parachute sheets through their website. They even accept PayPal. If you live in the L.A. area, you can stop by their Venice Beach showroom. That’s currently the only place you can actually test them out in person. But again, eliminating showrooms and salespeople means better value for you. My sheet set which consists of 1 fitted sheet and two pillow cases for a king sized bed costs $149. Compare this to a similar sheet set a Restoration Hardware which runs $349, on sale!

Recently Parachute opened a showroom in Venice, California. Below is a picture of the storefront.

parachute home

Here’s the inside of the Parachute store. It definitely has a beach house vibe. Very relaxed and inviting:

parachute inside

Construction

Below are the details of the Parachute Sheets.

  • Premium long-staple Egyptian cotton.
  • Made in Italy, by the world’s best artisans
  • Duvet Cover features twill ties in all four corners
  • Oeko-Tex certified
  • Machine washable
  • Stone washed

Findings

My sheets arrived in under a week and came in a nice package which made unboxing a fun experience.

parachute sheets unboxing

 

Parachute 3

The Sheets

I received a fitted percale sheet and 2 pillow cases. You have a choice between percale and sateen. Percale uses an over under weave which gives it a matte finish and enhances breath-ability.  It naturally has more texture to it than a sateen sheet. I chose the percale because I have a set of bamboo sheets which are silky smooth and I wanted to try a different type of texture.

Parachute Sheet Label

 

If you end up purchasing the percale texture you will notice that they feel a bit scratchy out of the box, but that’s normal. After a wash they start to soften up and it will take about 2-3 more washes for them to soften to their true feel. Since I was charges with conducting a Parachute sheets review, I was worried that I may have to give them bad marks because of the initial feel. Please don’t make the same mistake and make sure you break them in.

I am very pleased with my new Parachute sheets. They feel amazing and you can see the difference in quality down to the stitching. The pillowcases use an envelope method instead of just one opening. This keeps your pillow from constantly sliding out and gives your bed a more finished look.

Considering your head is against a pillow about a third of your life, you might as well invest in a pillow case with quality fabric and safe materials. Their pillowcases are large enough to hold a range of pillow sizes.

 

Parachute Sheet Stitching

Refunds

Parachute has a 60 day refund window and provides a return packing slip with every shipment. So if you aren’t satisfied for whatever reason, you have about 2 months before you need to return them. As I said, it will take a few washes before the sheets have their true feel so I would recommend a couple washes before forming a final opinion.

Giving Back

According to their website, Parachute will donate $10 to the non-profit “Nothing But Nets” for every Venice set sold. That’s enough to purchase 1 bed net for a child in sub-Sarahan Africa to fight malaria. So you can feel good about your purchase while feeling good while you sleep!

Conclusion

If you’re in the market for a luxury sheet set but don’t want to pay department store prices, Parachute is a hidden gem. I expect this company to receive more recognition as consumers start realizing that there are other options for quality sheets aside from traditional channels. I look forward to seeing this company grow and continue to reshape the bedding landscape.

One last thing, please note that their sheet sets do not include a top sheet. The reason is that a large number of people don’t use top sheets and the vast majority of Europeans don’t either. The advantage is an bed that’s easier to make. Also, if you have a washable duvet cover, it can be redundant. Just keep that in mind while shopping.

Learn more about these sheets and get free domestic shipping. Shop Parachute.

Disclosure: We aim to highlight products and services you might find interesting, and if you buy them, we may get a small share of the revenue. I have an affiliate relationship with Parachute.

Parachute

Parachute
8.7

Softness

8.6/10

Durability

9.5/10

Breathability

9.3/10

Fit

9.0/10

Price

7.5/10

Aesthetics

8.5/10

Pros

  • Look amazing
  • Lots of colors to choose from
  • Oeko Tex Certified

6 thoughts on “Parachute Sheets Review”

  1. Softness

    9.60

    Durability

    9.40

    Breathability

    9.50

    Fit

    9.80

    Price

    5.70

    Aesthetics

    9.90

    I love everything about Parachute bedding! From the smart packaging of the pieces in lovely reuseable cloth bags to the neat delivery boxes, Parachute bedding is a delight. I purchased sateen cases and fitted bottom sheets along with linen top sheets and my husband and I can’t stop raving about this bedding. Love the soft powder blue with a fog linen top sheet and navy blue with a white linen top sheet, we feel as if we are sliding into a warm, cozy cocoon. The stitching is wonderfully finished and the weight is perfect. I highly recommend this company and feel the excellent products are well worth the price.

  2. Hi.

    First. Oeko-Tex certification is not better than organic. With regards to product, Oeko-Tex takes the standard SVHC 169 testing (substances of very high concern – 169 of them) and augments with a couple other generic tests. SVHC 169 is the basis for both Prop 65 in California and CHCA/REACH in the EU. This is a very standard test and costs about $200 with Intertek, SGS, BV, or others. Oeko-Tex does do audits of the entire supply chain but focuses upon their reporting methods and charges the factory a large fee to be in the Oeko Tex supply chain. When something is truly Oeko-Tex certified, the product uses only Oeko-Tex certified fiber mill, yarn mill, fabric mill, and cut/sew facility – only using all those components gets Oeko Tex certification.

    Second, Parachute does not show up on the Oeko Tex certification list. Look for yourself at https://www.oeko-tex.com/en/consumer/consumers_home/consumers_home.xhtml

    Third, Parachute suppliers do not show up as registered either. Tessitura Toscana Telerie does not show up. But I hear an agent now manages much of Parachute’s sourcing.

    This is not to say Parachute is not good quality bedding; however, some of the claims are suspect. The idea that Oeko-Tex testing, using standardized tests augmented with a couple add-ons is not unique. The management of a supply chain through Oeko Tex certification is of value. I question if Parachute is even close to working in an Oeko Tex manner as Parachute does not appear to be Oeko Tex certified. It’s easy to talk sh*t and apply a hang tag, but does this retailer/buyer even know what they are talking about?

    1. Softness

      10.00

      Durability

      10.00

      Breathability

      10.00

      Fit

      10.00

      Price

      10.00

      Aesthetics

      10.00

      Hi Mike F.,
      Thanks for your email and for your interest in our Oeko-Tex certification. Sounds like it’s an important subject to you, which is great, because it is for us, too!
      We believe Oeko-Tex certification is of greater significance than organic because having only an organic label doesn’t guarantee the same protection as Oeko-Tex and REACH. As consumers increasingly demand natural products, companies frequently manipulate the term ‘organic’ when labeling their textiles. Fibers grown organically – but processed with toxic chemicals – may still carry the organic label.
      “When something is truly Oeko-Tex certified, the product uses only Oeko-Tex certified fiber mill, yarn mill, fabric mill, and cut/sew facility – only using all those components gets Oeko Tex certification.” That is correct, and our manufacturing partners in Italy, Portugal and Turkey are all certified Oeko-Tex facilities – including every part of the supply chain. All vendors that supply Parachute are Oeko Tex certified. TTT is certified under a different name, and if you’d like to learn more about their certification, feel free to reach out to Hohenstein Textile Testing Institute directly.
      “I hear an agent now manages much of Parachute’s sourcing.” These claims, while new to us, are false. We are a direct-to-consumer brand and partner directly with our manufacturers.
      Having passed each round of testing – with our most recent being conducted on February 24, 2017 by the Hohenstein Textile Testing Institute – all of our Bedding and Bath products exceed both Oeko-Tex Standard-100 Certification (https://www.oeko-tex.com/en/business/certifications_and_services/ots_100/ots_100_start.xhtml) and REACH protocol requirements. To find us on the database you’re referring to, please check the certified products dropdown. You can also see the certification by visiting https://www.oeko-tex.com/en/business/oeko_tex_certified_products/oeko_tex_certified_products.html.
      We hope this helps to clarify your concerns. Thanks again for your interest.

      Parachute

  3. Softness

    2.00

    Durability

    9.50

    Breathability

    9.00

    Fit

    8.00

    Price

    7.00

    Aesthetics

    9.50

    Do NOT buy the Percale. Scratchy garbage. 10+ washes in and still no softening as promised. Customer service also BLOWS. Their linen is nice though, but mine as well look elsewhere.

  4. Softness

    7.20

    Durability

    0.00

    Breathability

    10.00

    Fit

    10.00

    Price

    6.20

    Aesthetics

    10.00

    I purchased their linen flat sheet and two linen pillowcases in September 2015. I always follow the care instructions (warm on the delicate cycle with only liquid detergent, tumble dry low) but my flat sheet now has holes in it. Incredibly disappointing to have holes after only two years. I’ve had sheets from from Target that lasted longer. I would not recommend the linen sheets considering this lack of durability. I love linen and I do understand that it requires more care than cotton but this seems to imply poor quality. I’ll be looking somewhere else for linen sheets unfortunately

  5. Softness

    10.00

    Durability

    10.00

    Breathability

    10.00

    Fit

    10.00

    Price

    10.00

    Aesthetics

    10.00

    Hi Mike F.,

    Thanks for your email and for your interest in our Oeko-Tex certification. Sounds like it’s an important subject to you, which is great, because it is for us, too!

    We believe Oeko-Tex certification is of greater significance than organic because having only an organic label doesn’t guarantee the same protection as Oeko-Tex and REACH. As consumers increasingly demand natural products, companies frequently manipulate the term ‘organic’ when labeling their textiles. Fibers grown organically – but processed with toxic chemicals – may still carry the organic label.

    “When something is truly Oeko-Tex certified, the product uses only Oeko-Tex certified fiber mill, yarn mill, fabric mill, and cut/sew facility – only using all those components gets Oeko Tex certification.” That is correct, and our manufacturing partners in Italy, Portugal and Turkey are all certified Oeko-Tex facilities – including every part of the supply chain. All vendors that supply Parachute are Oeko Tex certified. TTT is certified under a different name, and if you’d like to learn more about their certification, feel free to reach out to Hohenstein Textile Testing Institute directly.

    “I hear an agent now manages much of Parachute’s sourcing.” These claims, while new to us, are false. We are a direct-to-consumer brand and partner directly with our manufacturers.

    Having passed each round of testing – with our most recent being conducted on February 24, 2017 by the Hohenstein Textile Testing Institute – all of our Bedding and Bath products exceed both Oeko-Tex Standard-100 Certification (https://www.oeko-tex.com/en/business/certifications_and_services/ots_100/ots_100_start.xhtml) and REACH protocol requirements. To find us on the database you’re referring to, please check the certified products dropdown. You can also see the certification by visiting https://www.oeko-tex.com/en/business/oeko_tex_certified_products/oeko_tex_certified_products.html.

    We hope this helps to clarify your concerns. Thanks again for your interest.

    Parachute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.