Nectar Mattress Ratings

$670
9.4

Motion Transfer

9.7/10

Affordability

9.6/10

Softness

9.0/10

Off Gassing

8.8/10

Trial Period

9.7/10

Pros

  • No Motion Transfer
  • Excellent Trial Period
  • Generous Warranty

Cons

  • Delivery can be slow
  • Slow recovery

Editor’s Note: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.

Sleep Sherpa review readers get $125 off your Nectar mattress plus 2 free pillows with our exclusive coupon code: sherpa125

Valid through September 2018 Activate Here

 

The Nectar is a four-layer mattress using a gel infused quilted memory foam layer and a dense foam core. That provides a cool breathable top gel layer sleeping surface with an overall great comfortable feel and medium firmness that has been engineered to reduce hot spots.

Nectar MattressNectar Mattress is a new memory foam mattress company that is upping the free trial ante with a 365 day free trial period. This more than triples the length of many of the online mattress company trial periods. Amazingly, you get to sleep on it for a whole year before deciding if it’s right for you. That means you get to experience through all four seasons. Aside from the amazing trial period, it just feels great. Pay attention to the details in this mattress review. This isn’t just another typical foam mattress, it has some significant advantages over the competitors. It has a medium firm feel but because it conforms so well, it feels great no matter what your firmness preference is.

This mattress is truly versatile enough to accommodate any sleeping position. It is firm enough for stomach and back sleepers for lumbar support but also conforms for side sleepers. Nectar was named one of the best mattresses of 2017

Nectar is also listed as one of the best mattresses for heavy people.

Overview of the Nectar Bed

Here’s a video of me speaking about some of the great features. What you’ll notice immediately is the quilted cover. Nectar stitches memory foam into the cover for a unique feel. You get an initial soft feeling then will transition into the support layers. You sink just enough for maximum pressure relief but not too much to where it would be hard to change positions at night.

Unboxing the Nectar Sleep Mattress

The Nectar is available to try in the Sleep Sherpa store and so we unbox a fresh Nectar every 3 months or so. Here’s a video of me unboxing one. As you can see the construction is the same but the logo has been updated a little. This mattress is very popular among customers in our store.

Below is a brochure that that explains the generous trial period. Again, it’s a 365 night trial period which so far is unheard of in the industry. This mattress also comes with the “Forever Warranty” meaning that as long as you own it, Nectar will warranty it against indentations over a certain amount. Although this is a very generous benefit, I am more impressed by the overall feel, price and generous trial period.

nectar mattress trial period

What is also interesting is that you can finance with no credit check required with no interest financing. You simply break out the payments into monthly installments.

How to Order the Nectar Sleep Mattress

Owning NECTAR is easy with No Credit required 6-month no-interest financing plan.
You only need the following to order today –

  • A source of income and this does not need to be a job
  • A credit card or debit card to make the low initial and monthly payments

No credit checks required and approval is instant
You will enjoy the product immediately and own outright on the day of your final payment

  • You can buy out your payment schedule at any time after 90 days

For people that don’t want to settle for a mediocre mattress, they are competitively priced but since they also add financing it makes it even more accessible. Of course, you can also pay by credit card all at once.

Nectar also offers white glove delivery. The will set up your new mattress and remove the old mattress. The cost for white glove delivery is $149

Review of Construction and Specifications

Here’s how the Mattress is made:

  • 1″ Top Comfort Layer – The cover is made of Tencel fiber which is a soft and very breathable material. It sleeps cooler than cotton and helps wick away moisture.
  • 1″ Support Layer – Underneath that is a quilted 4lb. cooling gel foam layer which is something unique. It give the a unique feel and provides great pressure relief.
  • 3″ Transition Layer – The fourth layer is what they call Hi Core Memory Foam. This is a dense foam that also is great for pressure relief.
  • 6″ Foundation Layer – This is a standard base layer similar to most other memory foam mattresses but is essential for providing good support.

Nectar construction layers

 

How Thick is a Nectar Mattress?

MaterialThicknessILD Rating
Top Tencel Layer1 inchn/a
Cooling Gel Support Layer1 inch14
Transition Layer3 inches15
Base Layer6 inches55

How Much Does Nectar Mattress Cost?

Nectar is one of the most competitively priced dense foam mattresses on the market. A queen size retails for $795, however, you can get $125 off ANY size with our coupon code sherpa100

If you are unsure what size you need, check out their mattress size and dimension guide.

SizePrice Without DiscountPrice With Discount
Twin$524$399
Twin XL$594$469
Full$724$599
Queen$824$699
King$924$799
California King$924$799

You can also finance the Nectar mattress through Affirm. This will allow you to pay in monthly installments.

Does it Need a Foundation?

Actually, it doesn’t require a foundation however you can put it on a foundation as long as it is firm. It also works on an adjustable bed, wood slats or even the floor.

What is the Nectar Forever Warranty?

Nectar introduced what they call, “The Forever Warranty. This means that they guarantee the construction, and durability to the original purchaser.

Here are the details of the warrant as listed on their website:

  • For the first 10 years of ownership, we will replace your mattress with a brand new Nectar at absolutely no charge to you if defective in workmanship and materials. In years 10+ Nectar will completely repair and re-cover your Nectar, or replace your Nectar. All transportation charges will be waived if a manufacturing defect(s) or a materials failure is confirmed to exist.
  • Nectar also offers the “Choice Option” as part of our Forever Warranty™. If you are choosing the “Choice Option”, YOU KEEP YOUR ORIGINAL MATTRESS. At your choice, instead of us repairing or replacing your defective Nectar in years 10+, we will deliver a brand new one for 50% of the original price you paid.
  • Your mattress must be used on an appropriate base such as a platform bed or other suitable bed frame.
  • The warranty applies only as long as the original owner.
  • The warranty does not apply if burned or otherwise abused, damaged, misused, or neglected.
  • In order to provide the most optimum sleeping surface, the Nectar contains only the finest quality materials. As with all premium sleep products, certain adaptations will take place as your mattress adjusts to your body shape. This is to be expected and is part of the performance. Normal body impressions (not greater than 1.5”) are not defects and are not covered by the warranty. Excessive body impressions of greater than 1.5” are covered by the Forever Warranty until…Forever.

How Long will the Nectar Mattress Last?

Given the construction and the fact that it is a denser foam mattress, I expect you can get around 7-8 years out of this mattress before you notice lasting impressions or lack of support. Since Nectar is a relatively new company it’s hard to say for sure but based on my experience with similar construction this would be my best guess.

Findings and What Makes it Unique

Here are some preliminary shots of the Nectar Sleep Bed:

It will slowly cradle you. Here’s a picture of my 14 lb. bowling ball:

sinkage

I also took off the cover to show you the inside of the Nectar mattress and how it responds. This is one of the best you can get for pressure relief. Notice that it recovers slowly. The negative here is that changing positions will be a little more difficult but the positive is that I don’t think you will need to change positions at night because of how well it conforms.

Here’s a video of the quilted cover. This is what really sets it apart. It is a dense foam layer quilted into the covering. Quilting foam into the costs more from a manufacturing standpoint but it is well worth it. I haven’t felt anything quite like this before.

Below is a video illustrating heat retention. I was surprised at the result. Given it has a gel memory foam quilted into the cover, I expected much more heat retention. The reason it performed so well is that the cover is made with a Tencel fiber that is much more breathable than cotton. Added to that is a phase change material that draws heat away. Other ultra-dense foam mattresses I have tested don’t come close in terms of drawing away heat.

You don’t need to worry about waking up your partner at night. There’s virtually no motion transfer! Check out the video below. Keep in mind, if your partner tosses and turns at night, this will affect your quality of sleep as well.

Here’s another video review showing how well it performs with motion transfer. In fact, my engineering team found this to be the best for isolating motion of all the mattresses they have tested. Sleep disturbances from your partner is a leading cause of poor sleep and Nectar addresses this head on.

Are there any Complaints?

The biggest Nectar complaints that I have heard are the long wait times. Due to demand customers can experience waits over a few weeks before their product arrives. In my opinion, it is well worth the wait.

Does it have any Off Gas Smell?

Again, since the Nectar is a denser foam mattress, it will be prone to more off-gassing. I think that’s because there’s simply just more material to off gas. You can expect the smell to go away after about 3-4 days with most of the smell dissipating within 2 days.

I often recommend opening the mattress in the morning so that it has all day to breathe before you sleep on it at night. If you are especially sensitive to smells, you may also want to open your windows. The smell is not permanent and will eventually go away.

How do you Return the product?

Returning is easy. If you find that you don’t like it within the 365 day home trial period, you just contact their customer serviced department and they will arrange pickup of the mattress. You do not have to put it back in the box and you do not have to pay return shipping. You aren’t out any money. It’s a clean break.

Final thoughts

For the money, this is one of the best dense foam mattresses I have reviewed. It is made in China but I didn’t notice any major off-gassing. It is also Certipur Certified so the foams used in the construction are tested to be free of any harmful chemicals such as formaldehyde. This is extremely comfortable and I love how it conforms so well to your body.

A big complaint of dense foam is that they sleep hot. That’s because memory foam is an insulator and the denser the foam the more it will insulate. By incorporating a phase change material into the mattress ticking and quilting cooling gel foam into the top layer, Nectar has created a very innovative and effective to give you the best combinations of support, pressure relief, motion isolation and cooling.

I am very impressed with the quilted cover and I was very surprised at how quickly it dissipated heat. A queen size retails for $795 but with the $100 off sherpa100 coupon code, it brings the price down to $695 which is substantially less than others of this quality and construction.

One of the biggest complaints is when they launched was problems with back orders. I don’t think they quite anticipated how much demand there would be and therefore had a hard time keeping up. The company has now caught up on their back orders and you can expect to receive your package in about 10 days after placing your order.

Nectar was recently featured on The Talk with Sharon Osborne as part of their giveaways on October 9, 2017.

The Talk

Just recently in the news again. Giving TV talk show host Wendy Williams a free Nectar after her fainting spell during her Halloween Special and was again featured for a holiday giveaway…

 

Learn more about the Nectar Mattress

Nectar Mattress Ratings

$670
9.4

Motion Transfer

9.7/10

Affordability

9.6/10

Softness

9.0/10

Off Gassing

8.8/10

Trial Period

9.7/10

Pros

  • No Motion Transfer
  • Excellent Trial Period
  • Generous Warranty

Cons

  • Delivery can be slow
  • Slow recovery

Sleep Sherpa readers get $125 off your Nectar mattress plus 2 free pillows with our exclusive coupon code: sherpa125 Activate  Here

Editor’s Note: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.

107 thoughts on “Nectar Mattress Review”

    1. I would give this a 6. You slowly sink into it as it cradles you. The company aptly described the surface as a putty like surface. Think of a dense material that will cradle you while you sleep. This is in large part due to the cover being quilted with a gel foam layer, something I haven’t experienced in any other mattress.

      1. Hi. I am a side sleeper mainly. I am considering either Purple or Nectar. Which do you think is best for me? Or do you think the Sealy Cocoon is better? Also, my wife is concerned both of these are to firm. We currently have an expensive Simmons Beauty Rest traditional spring pillow top we have had for several years. Any advice is appreciated.

        1. I am a side sleeper too and I am only 105 lbs. I currently have the Nectar and it’s horrible, I always wake up with back pain and I don’t feel well rested. It’s not comfortable. I am thinking of returning it. By the way, have been sleeping on it for 7 months now and it’s still the same, not comfortable and I develop a back pain, something that I need not have before.

          1. Motion Transfer

            0.00

            Affordability

            9.80

            Softness

            0.00

            Off Gassing

            0.00

            Trial Period

            10.00

            oh my Maria. I wish I had seen these comments before I ordered. It came within 4 days which I wasn’t expecting. It is airing out now altho any off gassing is mild and I expect no problem with that tonight. But like you I am 5’6′ and btwn 103-105 lbs. I already have back & leg pain so I’m now a bit nervous. I’m sorry you are having the pain, but definitely return b/c if you keep sleeping in pain you could cause further problems. From what I am reading now I may have chosen the wrong one. I need/wanted a med-soft mattress preferably with plush top. Its odd b/c another website said this was a medium to med-soft. But that depends on weight & body type. I have 2 mattresses here I have to return and maybe 3 if Nectar is too hard.

    2. Motion Transfer

      8.50

      Affordability

      8.50

      Softness

      0.00

      Off Gassing

      4.50

      Trial Period

      9.90

      I just received my Nectar mattress. I’ve never owned a memory foam mattress before. This mattress seems very firm to me. My wife who’s smaller thinks it’s stiff as a board. Hope it softens a bit or her body adjusts otherwise this one may be going back.

  1. Thanks! I will order this mattress. Your reviews have been very helpful and honest. We have tried the Tuft and Needle and while the mattress didn’t fit our needs, the customer service department is amazing. The return is really Hassel free. Your review on the Nectar shows that this mattress may provide more comfort for my arthritis and fibromyalgia. Thanks again!

    1. Hi Sharon,
      Please let us know how you like the Nectar mattress as well as the experience in dealing with the company as we are considering buying this as well. From all of the reviews that I’ve read, it sounds wonderful.
      Thank you.

    1. The Nectar mattress has a very unique feel. It has a dense top layer along with the quilted cover that incorporated gel foam. Nectar aptly described it as a sort of putty feel. What I appreciate about the mattress is it gives you great alignment and very good pressure relief. For a dense foam mattress like this, it also does very well with heat retention as seen in the video in the review. It will feel firmer than these brands at first but slowly adapt to your body.

      1. Ben, this mattress is only good (if even) for heavy people. It is MUCH TOO HARD for lightweight peeps or side sleepers. Their customer service is horrible. I can’t even get a live person and have sat on terminal hold for 30 mins at a time. I just want them to pick up the damn mattress. The one time I got lucky, I got a guy who wanted me to take pix of mattress tags so they could figure out where it came from! There record keeping is appalling. I would NOT recommend this mattress to anyone. It definitely is not worth the headaches. IMO – the good reviews must be bots as I don’t believe they are real. Either the were not prepared for the roll out or it is being run by a bunch of kids. Either way, it sucks. I have seen similar complaints elsewhere.

  2. Hi, Ben. Like Sharon, I have a T&N too. I’m about to return it for this mattress or the Hyphen. The T&N didn’t offer enough pressure point relief for me. I’m around 125lbs. However, I tend to sleep on my back and it seemed to be okay for that. Truthfully, I just didn’t care for the feel of their foam. This mattress seems as firm as the T&N, but do you think it’s better for pressure points since it’s more conforming? How about the Hyphen mattress?

  3. How does this compare to the Novosbed with the comfort kit for both soft comfort and good support for a side sleeper? I was about to order the Nectar but then read your Novosbed review. I have arthritis and fibromyalgia and need pressure relief. My nephew just ordered the Nectar. Which of the two seem to be the most durable? Thanks. Russ, I’ll reply after I try my new mattress and ask my nephew to also report on his Nectar.

    1. The Nectar is very similar in feel to the Novosbed except that the Nectar is less expensive with a longer trial period. The Nectar feels very similar to the Medium firm Novosbed. The trade off is that you don’t have the comfort plus option if you want to make it firmer or softer. However if you don’t like it you can always return it for a full refund. The up side is that if you do like it, you end up saving a considerable amount of money and the Nectar should be just as durable as the Novosbed.

    1. It has denser foam than the Loblolly. It has phase change material in the cover which is cooler to the touch and considerably less expensive. I recommend trying this mattress first.

  4. Hi Ben,
    Thank you for all of your great, unbiased reviews. They have proved invaluable in our search for a new mattress. I wish we lived closer to your showroom! We are considering the Leesa, Nectar, and the Nest Alexander Signature Series, medium firm. We’re leaning toward the Nectar but would appreciate your thoughts. My wife is approximately 125lbs and is a back and side sleeper; I’m 160lbs and primarily a side sleeper. Thank you.

    1. The Nectar has a very unique feel and I have been getting great feedback on it so far. They also have a very generous trial period, 1 year! If you want a denser foam feel, the Nectar would be a great choice. It offers amazing pressure relief.

    1. I found the Nectar to have more hug. It won’t feel like it is cradling you at first because it takes a moment for the foam to adjust to your body but once it does, it feels great.

  5. Hi Ben does the nectar offer a frame for the mattress? I haven’t been able to find one on their website. If not, what frame would you recommend for this mattress? Thanks! in advance for your opinions

    1. Derick, you find a bed frame on Wayfair, Walmart, Overstock or any of the mattress companies online or in at a store. I just purchased one at Wayfair.

  6. So if you had to choose between the Novosbed that comes with a frame and the Nectar mattress and buy a Zinus frame separate which would you choose? and why?

    1. I would go with the Nectar and the Zinus. I’m all about value and I think these brands provide both. If you like it you will save a considerable amount of money. If not, you can always return and go with the Novosbed.

  7. i wish it were made in the USA – i am very sensitive to smell- how bad is the off gassing? can you sleep on it same day you unpack it or does it need to sit in an open windowed room a few days?
    thanks!

    1. I didn’t find the off gassing to be that bad. Considering the density of the foam it performed well. I believe that the mattress had time to breathe before it was roll packed and shipped which helps considerably. If you are sensitive to smell, I recommend opening it in a guest room so it can finish off gassing, after a day it should mostly be gone.

  8. We need to replace our 17 year old innerspring! Trying to decide between Nectar and Leesa. We aren’t sure if memory foam is right for us, but with the liberal return policies, why not? I am a 130 lb side sleeper and my husband is 190 lbs and sleeps side and back and sometimes stomach. Which would you recommend?

    1. The Nectar will sink in more and recover slower than the Leesa. The Leesa has a bit more bounce to it due to its construction. The mattresses have very different feels so it really comes down to personal preference.

    1. Hey John, just about all my reviews are done with queen size mattresses. There are a few exceptions where I reviewed a king but otherwise queen.

  9. Motion Transfer

    0.00

    Affordability

    0.00

    Softness

    0.00

    Off Gassing

    0.00

    Trial Period

    0.00

    Hello Ben,

    We currently have a Denver Air Mattress with a 3″ Tempurpedic Foam Topper.

    I weigh 320lbs and my wife is 135lbs. I am a side and stomach sleeper and roll a bit. My wife is very interested Nectar, what do you think about me?

      1. I just purchased the Nectar bed. I talked with customer service and they say the bed is good up to 650 lbs. Supposed to ship on or before May 19, 2017. I will be happy to share my experience. We currently have a personal comfort air mattress. Had it 4 years and tired of it.

  10. Do you recommend using a mattress protector over this or just washing the cover since it is removable and machine washable? My husband’s sweat yellowed our old mattress spring coil even through mattress pads that were regularly washed. Any suggestions or not recommended to use one due to the mattress’ inherent cooling properties?

  11. Motion Transfer

    0.00

    Affordability

    0.00

    Softness

    0.00

    Off Gassing

    0.00

    Trial Period

    0.00

    I am a big person (280lb). Would I just sink into this and feel like I am never going to get out of it? This has been my experience with other memory foam beds.

    1. It will recover slowly so this may not be the one for you. However the tradeoff is that it has excellent pressure relief. Another mattress to consider woudl be the Eight Sleep mattress.

  12. How would you rate this for stomach sleepers? I side sleep too but end up on stomach by morning.

    Thanks for the great reviews too!

    1. This is a good mattress for stomach sleepers because it gives you adequate support in your lower back no matter what position you sleep in. I really like the dense foam mattresses like the Nectar.

    1. They are very different in construction. You will sink into the Nectar more and get more, “hug” with the Nectar. With the Purple you sort of sleep “on” it. I didn’t find the Purple to be as cozy as the Nectar.

  13. Ben, I fell in love with the Tempur-pedic Supreme Breeze, but not the cost. So, I was looking at Leesa, Nest, Loom & Leaf and now Nectar. I am 4’11 1/2 side sleeper and hourglass. I also tend to sleep hot. I am looking for a new mattress after having my Beautyrest, with coils, pillowtop with latex, but really want to move towards memory/ temperpedic. Which is the closest feel to the Breeze Supreme?

  14. I looked at the ICloud blue 3000 and loved the way it felt soft and like it snuggled me but it was too expensive. Now I’m considering either the Nectar or the Tuft & Needle. Which would feel closest to the ICloud 3000?

  15. We visited your store over Memorial weekend. We liked the nectar, but was wondering how that compares to amerisleep Revere? I see you had a favorable review in 2016. I am impressed with what I’ve read about this company and has been rated as one of the best online matress buys for memory foam.

    1. The Amerisleep transitions differently than the Nectar. The Revere had a little softer top layer then a firmer base layer. The Nectar seems to have a smoother transition.

  16. We currently have a Seally Optimum Inspiration plush that’s med firmness. Would the Nectar be a good comparative or do you have other suggestions?

  17. Ordered yesterday liked the 365 day trial. Says will be here Thursday. Wasn’t sure to go with this or the oceano. Mostly sidesleeper.

  18. We slept on our Nectar mattress for the first time last night. I think we will be happy with it, but it is a little firmer than I would like. Will it soften a little in the next few weeks?

    1. Yes, it takes a few weeks to get the true feel for the mattress. It will soften a bit from what it is out of the box.

  19. Motion Transfer

    9.60

    Affordability

    9.70

    Softness

    9.70

    Off Gassing

    9.80

    Trial Period

    9.60

    After much research and trying another online mattress. we ordered our Nectar. We did have to wait much longer than we thought we would. However, the wait was well worth it. This is the most comfortable mattress that we have ever had. We have had many after 57 years of marriage! I am a side sleeper while my husband sleeps on his back and we both LOVE it! Thanks so much for your help, Ben, as you answered many questions for me. I waited until we slept on our mattress for a month to review it. Buy this mattress, with their one year trial you can’t go wrong!

  20. Hi Ben,

    Quick question about the Nectar. I saw that some people are having delivery issues or customer service issues with them. Have you heard about this and have there been any improvements? I am really interested in nectar or ghost bed and leaning towards nectar if their service issues have been resolved.

    Any input on a comparison with ghostbed?

    1. Yes, there have been some delays with Nectar but that has cleared up for the most part. I just don’t think they anticipated such a big demand for the mattress. The vast majority of people I hear from though say it’s well worth the wait.

  21. I am very intrigued by this mattress except for the fact that it is made in China. Most other comparable mattresses I researched were made in the USA. Would you have any concerns? Thank you.

    1. The Nectar is Cert-PUR US certified which means that a 3rd party tests the foam used in the construction of this mattress to ensure it is:

      ✓ Made without ozone depleters

      ✓ Made without PBDEs, TDCPP or TCEP (”Tris”) flame retardants

      ✓ Made without mercury, lead, and other heavy metals

      ✓ Made without formaldehyde

      ✓ Made without phthalates regulated by the Consumer Product Safety Commission

  22. Been sleeping on it for about a month now and it is a comfortable bed. Stays cooler then our old dr scholls that was suppose to be cool. Don’t feel the wife wake up most the time. Still sometimes ache when waking up but could be the pillow too. The nectar pillows where delayed in shipping and will be here tomorrow.

  23. Motion Transfer

    8.30

    Affordability

    8.70

    Softness

    7.70

    Off Gassing

    8.00

    Trial Period

    9.80

    Hi, We’ve been sleeping on the Nectar for 5 months. So far it’s a vast improvement to our old pillowtop, however I’m always waking up with a sore upper back, and occasionally I’m tossing and turning through the night because of my sore upper back. The soreness slightly improved when I started using the Nectar pillow. We’re thinking we’re going to return it. Do you have any suggestions for a mattress that we should try next? I’m a side sleeper, and my husband is a back/side sleeper, though he doesn’t seem quite as affected as me. Thanks!

  24. Motion Transfer

    9.80

    Affordability

    9.80

    Softness

    9.90

    Off Gassing

    9.20

    Trial Period

    10.00

    I can’t claim to be a mattress connoisseur. Most of the ones I’ve had in my adult life have been limited to what I can afford, and thus sub-par. My wife and I found ourselves in a situation where we needed a mattress fairly quickly, and couldn’t afford to go buy a traditional mattress. Neither of us wanted to buy another cheap mattress that would leave us sore after a fitful night’s sleep on a bed with springs sticking into us. At 250 lbs, I’m about 40 lbs over weight, but I had read that even at my ideal weight of 210, many popular boxed mattresses sink through to the slats of the bed. After doing some exhaustive research, I came upon Sleep Sherpa, and used the “GET PERSONALIZED RECOMMENDATIONS” feature at the bottom of the page. I explained our budget, body types, and Ben responded quickly by pointing me to the Nectar. It was well-under our budget, and with a year trial period there was no good reason not to get it.

    Often our two medium-sized dogs, two cats, and eight year old son all climb onto our bed to have pow-wows, so we ordered a king-sized mattress. At 10 days for delivery, it took longer to arrive than we might have liked, but that is because demand is reasonably high. So it’s an annoyance, but in this case, the annoyance is a good sign.

    As a side note, I ordered a Purple Base for the platform since our room is small, and space is at a premium. The high base allows me to use drawers underneath for my clothes, and thus free up the room, and it turns out to work quite well with the Nectar mattress.

    The off-gassing was gone in about the time it took to inflate the mattress, and wasn’t terribly noticeable to begin with, though my nose isn’t the most sensitive so results may vary for other customers. The included pillows are the best pillows I have ever owned. I’ve tried a variety of pillows in the past with a variety of fillings ranging from feathers to gel, and these are the first pillows where I didn’t need to use two to get my head to a comfortable alignment.

    My wife likes a firm mattress while I need one even though I like the initial sinking feeling of a soft bed. The Nectar gives me both worlds. Also, the motion transfer on the bed, or lack thereof, is exceptional. For the first time in nine years of marriage, I don’t wake my wife up if I go to bed later than her, and she doesn’t wake me up when she gets up earlier. However, when I get out of bed, I tend to rock back into the mattress to spring myself into a seated position. That doesn’t work so well with the Nectar, but it’s a small price to pay since all the aches and pains previous mattresses gave me have faded.

    If there is any flaw mattress, it’s the edge support. Sitting on the edge of the bed is fine for me, but if I lay within about four inches of the edge, it feels like I’m going fall off. It isn’t that big a deal on a king-sized bed, but I could see how it might become an issue on a narrower bed.

    The quilted weave for the mattress cover is also very nice. In addition to dissipating the heat well, it feels nice to lay on top of. So nice that you almost feel like you wouldn’t need a fitted sheet. Of course you want to use sheets, but if you ever spent a day doing laundry and find yourself wanting to just lie down for a fifteen minute nap while the sheets are in the dryer, you won’t feel uncomfortable.

    Bottom line: If you’re looking for a mattress, with the year trial period, there’s no reason not to give this a try. Also, Ben works hard to give us these reviews, and goes the extra mile to respond to questions, so please use the code here to get your Nectar.

  25. We have had the Nectar mattress for over a week and while it is very nice and well made it may be a bit too firm for us. My wife is a side sleeper and I like “soft” mattresses. Would you rate the Nest love and sleep as softer than the Nectar? Thanks

  26. I am thinking about buying a Nectar or a Loom & Leaf. L & L gets excellent ratings from the Better Business Bureau. Nectar gets slammed. A lot of complaints! Do you have any knowledge of this or have any of your readers experienced any problems with Nectar?

    1. I think the biggest complaints around Nectar that I hear are the slow delivery times. However if you are aware that it may take a while to get your Nectar, I think it’s well worth the wait.

  27. Have you reviewed the Nolah mattress yet? I am currently sleeping on it- I find it a bit too soft as I am primarily a back sleeper. I’m also interested in trying something that has more of a traditional memory foam feel. Would you recommend the Nectar? Or maybe Loom and Leaf or Nest?

  28. Motion Transfer

    10.00

    Affordability

    9.50

    Softness

    6.00

    Off Gassing

    9.80

    Trial Period

    3.00

    Got the mattress with significant delay – about 3 weeks – Mattress length was 78.5 inch instead of 80″. It was sleeping too hot for me and too soft for my wife. So, after about 3 month we decided to return the nectar and try other mattresses. In spite all the warning we read on the internet about the difficulties in getting customer service and the process of returning the mattress, we were surprise by how easy and smooth it was to arrange the return, and get a full refund as promised Great customer support !!!

  29. Received the mattress in July, and after a week or two of off-gassing and the first night or two of getting used to the mattress, I really liked it. Now, a few months on, I am worried that I feel the mattress sinking more, underneath myself and my husband. It’s as if it conformed to our bodies too much, and now there are dips in the mattress (King size) where we sleep. I roll onto the middle after my husband gets out, and it feels much higher and firmer. Is anyone else experiencing this? Does the mattress integrity just not last or is this “normal”? I am thinking about returning it now, which would be a shame, because I did like it before. I just don’t like the idea of it breaking down so quickly. Any suggestions?

  30. The mattresses are good, but the time before they ship is ridiculous. It is taking in excess of 30 days or more before they ship, and then another 4 to 5 days to received it.

  31. I have a herniated lumbar disc with almost constant low back pain, and my husband and I are both side sleepers. He’s about 210lb, I’m at 190lb. I’ve tried asking my physical therapist for mattress recommendations but was just told that a supportive but soft mattress is the way to go; do you think the Nectar would be a good option? Does it do a good job relieving pressure points in the shoulders/hips? Or is there another one you’d recommend?

  32. How do you compare this with Zinus Cooling Gel memory foam mattress and Sleepy’s cool plush 12″ mattress that has a comparable price (with ongoing 50% off). We felt sleepy’s cool plush was very firm for us and trying to find out how Nectar or Zinus firmness will compare with Sleepy’s. Please let me know.

  33. Motion Transfer

    10.00

    Affordability

    10.00

    Softness

    3.70

    Off Gassing

    0.60

    Trial Period

    10.00

    I am sorry to say I will be one of the people sending my Nectar back for two reasons 1) The smell remains even after nearly two weeks. Its less than the first few days but I feel I have given it enough time. Are manufacturing issues in China driving this ? 2) I find the firmness to be closer to a “8” in my view – even though I am a big person and should have sunk right into comfort. My problem is what mattress to get now? I need a lower odor and slightly softer mattress. Leesa ? Wink ?

  34. Nectar lies about shipping dates, and then they lie again when they say it will be just one more week. This company needs to be sued.

  35. Do you need to remove the cover and wash it like you would ordinary mattress covers ( pillow covers)? Will the off gas go away?

    1. No, you don’t wash the cover of the mattress. This has quilted foam and washing it will ruin it. The off gassing will go away in time. I notice the worst of it goes away after a couple days.

  36. Hello. I feel like you should note just how slow their delivery can be. It’s not just weeks. Mine is reaching nearly two months.

    I ordered my king sized Nectar with the two free pillows deal on 12/12. The site didn’t mention any delays. It said it would be delivered around 12/26. That date goes by and the order page says it’s delayed 1/12. That date misses and now the order page says 1/25. A WHOLE MONTH AND A HALF to get a mattress. I’m been sleeping on a futon at my new house because these guys can’t deliver. If I would have ordered from a different company I’m sure I would have had something in a couple of weeks. I’ve spoken to their customer service and all they offer are apologies and a small refund.

  37. Hi,
    I’m considering the Nectar but I wondered if you can compare/contrast it with the Nest Bedding Alexander. I’m a side and stomach sleeper and tend to sleep hot; my wife is a back and side sleeper. I am considering these mattresses for an adjustable bed. Thanks.

  38. Hi Ben and Sleep Sherpa —
    I finally ordered a Nectar mattress to try it out, thanks to my initial test at your showroom. However, I’ve gotten messages from Nectar twice now, delaying the shipping date. I ordered the mattress on January 9th; the original ship date was the 30th; now it’s February 7th….I went online and saw that there’s a huge upswell right now (much like there was when the company first launched) of customers claiming they haven’t received their mattresses for 6 weeks, 8 weeks…and who’ve then asked for a refund. Hundreds of reviews from angry folks saying that they’re being strung along, and this feels like a scam. Another report is that customer service is awful, and that customers’ emails of complaint go unanswered (which I can vouch for).
    You don’t happen to have any pull with Nectar to urge them to shape up, do you?
    You might also really stress to your visitors, right now, that Nectar is NOT doing well in the speed-of-delivery department. I did NOT intend to pay my money and have nothing to show for it except worsening back pain for over a month. I really have no way of knowing when I’ll ever get my Nectar mattress. If I’d known about this delay, I might have chosen a slightly more expensive mattress that I could have slept on within a week.
    Just letting you and your readers know that this is a bummer situation. Thanks!

  39. Ben, Just purchased a Leggett & Platt Prodigy 2.0 adjustable. Do you feel the Nectar can mate well with it? I am a side sleeper. Thanks!

  40. Years ago we had a tempurpedic. It was hot and I felt like I couldn’t get out of the hole my body made in the foam. I realize this was yeas ago and product materials have advanced. By the sounds of these other reviews, Nectar sounds like our old Tempurpedic that I couldn’t get our of or roll over in. Has anyone had trouble with this? I don’t want a repeat of that mattress, and yet I want a bed that conforms to my body and pressure points. I have pain in my back and shoulders. What do you recommend?

  41. Motion Transfer

    10.00

    Affordability

    10.00

    Softness

    9.00

    Off Gassing

    10.00

    Trial Period

    10.00

    We received our Nectar a couple of weeks ago and we have been very very pleased. My husband and I are both seniors and have the usual arthritic discomforts associated with advancing age. After the first night, we both noticed an appreciable difference in how well we slept and pain upon awakening (no pain!). After more time, we are convinced…this mattress has really helped us. I’m only sorry we waited so long to go to this type of bedding vs the traditional mattress combos we have been purchasing for years. On other review sites, people are complaining about delivery times and poor customer service (apparently two areas where Nectar needs to step up) but the reviews for the mattress itself have been good, for the most part.

  42. I ordered the Nectar based on price/return policy/reviews. After ordered I discovered there were lots of complaints on shipping. I was a bit worried.

    Well…I ordered in the morning on April 15th. I heard a thump outside. The mattress is on the porch. Today is April 19th. So I would say that was pretty fast.

    I have not unrolled or set up yet. I will update with a review when I do so.

    So at least if you are in LA and ordering this time of year, delivery time does not seem to be an issue.

    1. The foam in this mattress conforms really well. While I can’t speak to your specific situation, I personally found it conforms great for my lower back.

  43. Motion Transfer

    10.00

    Affordability

    10.00

    Softness

    8.00

    Off Gassing

    6.00

    Trial Period

    10.00

    I am 280lbs and I’ve tried Nector, Purple and Luft. The Luft was the best built by far, but didn’t work out for me. The Nectar was firmer than i expected(which i like, i felt Luft wasnt firm enough). The Nector doesnt have the classic memory foam feel that i expected, but it is nice. I feel it needs time to break in. Both the Luft and Nector properly fit my foundation and sheets. The Purple by far gave me the best feel. My concern with Purple was it is so thin at 9.5″ and it was a bit smaller than standard size, I noticed concern after 90 days. Nectar is 1.5″ thicker and no concerns with it supporting me like the luft or Purple. As i said, the Purple elastic grid is amazing but could not justify the cost of a purple or purple 2 compared to Nectar which is also a fine bed but quite different. I could buy 2 Nectars and have $300 to spare vs a purple 2. I could see where a lighter person may find the Nectar too firm. I’m shocked at how little give it has had for my 280lbs. Off gassing didn’t bother me. I like the smell… it is pleasant to me like new car smell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

nectar-mattress-review-best-memory-foam-mattress-2018-you-decide