Nectar Sleep Mattress Ratings

$670
9.4

Motion Transfer

9.7/10

Affordability

9.6/10

Softness

9.0/10

Off Gassing

8.8/10

Trial Period

9.7/10

Pros

  • No Motion Transfer
  • Excellent Trial Period
  • Generous Warranty

Cons

  • Delivery can be slow
  • Slow recovery

Editor’s Note: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.

Sherpa DealSleep Sherpa readers get the best price on your Nectar plus 2 premium pillows  Activate Here

 

The Nectar is a four layer mattress using a gel infused quilted memory foam layer and a dense foam core. That provides a cool breathable top gel layer sleeping surface with an overall great comfortable feel and medium firmness that has been engineered to reduce hot spots.

Nectar Mattress Review

Nectar Mattress is a new memory foam mattress company that is upping the free trial ante with a 365 day free trial period. This more than triples the length of many of the online mattress company trial periods. Amazingly, you get to sleep on it for a whole year before deciding if it’s right for you. That means you get to experience through all four seasons. Aside from the amazing trial period, it just feels great.  This isn’t just another typical foam mattress, it has some significant advantages over the competitors. It has a medium firm feel but because it conforms so well, it feels great no matter what your firmness preference is.

This mattress is truly versatile enough to accommodate any sleeping position. It is firm enough for stomach and back sleepers for lower back support but also conforms for side sleepers.

Overview of the Nectar Bed

Here’s a video of me speaking about some of the great features. What you’ll notice immediately is the quilted cover. Nectar stitches memory foam into the cover for a unique feel. You get an initial soft feeling then will transition into the support layers. You sink just enough for maximum pressure relief but not too much to where it would be hard to change positions at night.

 

Unboxing the Nectar Mattress

The Nectar is available to try in the Sleep Sherpa store and so we unbox a fresh Nectar every 3 months or so. Here’s a video of me unboxing one. As you can see the construction is the same but the logo has been updated a little. This mattress is very popular among customers in our store.

Below is a brochure that explains the generous trial period. Again, it’s a 365 night trial period which so far is unheard of in the industry. This mattress also comes with the “Forever Warranty” meaning that as long as you own it Nectar will warranty it against indentations over a certain amount. Although this is a very generous benefit, I am more impressed by the overall feel, price and generous trial period.

nectar mattress trial period

What is also interesting is that you can finance with no credit check required with no interest financing. You simply break out the payments into monthly installments.

How to Order

Owning NECTAR is easy with No Credit required 6-month no-interest financing plan.
You only need the following to order today –

  • A source of income and this does not need to be a job
  • A credit card or debit card to make the low initial and monthly payments

No credit checks required and approval is instant
You will enjoy the product immediately and own outright on the day of your final payment

  • You can buy out your payment schedule at any time after 90 days

For people that don’t want to settle for a mediocre mattress, they are competitively priced but since they also add financing it makes it even more accessible. Of course, you can also pay by credit card all at once.

Nectar also offers white glove delivery. They will setup your new mattress and remove the old mattress. The cost for white glove delivery is $149

Review of Construction and Specifications

Here’s how the Mattress is made:

  • 1″ Top Comfort Layer – The cover is made of Tencel fiber which is a soft and very breathable material. It sleeps cooler than cotton and helps wick away moisture.
  • 1″ Support Layer – Underneath that is a quilted 4lb. cooling gel foam layer which is something unique. It give the a unique feel and provides great pressure relief.
  • 3″ Transition Layer – The fourth layer is what they call Hi Core Memory Foam. This is a dense foam that also is great for pressure relief.
  • 6″ Foundation Layer – This is a standard base layer similar to most other memory foam mattresses but is essential for providing good support.

Nectar construction layers

 

How Much Does it Cost?

Nectar is one of the most competitively priced dense foam mattresses on the market. A queen size retails for $699

SizePrice with 2 premium pillows
Twin$399
Twin XL$469
Full$599
Queen$699
King$899
California King$899

Does is Need a Foundation?

Actually it doesn’t require a foundation however you can put it on a foundation as long as it is firm. It also works on an adjustable bed, wood slats or even the floor.

What is the Nectar Forever Warranty?

Nectar introduced what they call, “The Forever Warranty. This means that they guarantee the construction, and durability to the original purchaser.

Here are the details of the warrant as listed on their website:

  1. For the first 10 years of ownership, we will replace your mattress with a brand new Nectar at absolutely no charge to you if defective in workmanship and materials. In years 10+ Nectar will completely repair and re-cover your Nectar, or replace your Nectar. All transportation charges will be waived if a manufacturing defect(s) or a materials failure is confirmed to exist.
  2. Nectar also offers the “Choice Option” as part of our Forever Warranty™. If you are choosing the “Choice Option”, YOU KEEP YOUR ORIGINAL MATTRESS. At your choice, instead of us repairing or replacing your defective Nectar in years 10+, we will deliver a brand new one for 50% of the original price you paid.
  3. Your mattress must be used on an appropriate base such as a platform bed or other suitable bed frame.
  4. The warranty applies only as long as the original owner.
  5. The warranty does not apply if burned or otherwise abused, damaged, misused, or neglected.
  6. In order to provide the most optimum sleeping surface, the Nectar contains only the finest quality materials. As with all premium sleep products, certain adaptations will take place as your mattress adjusts to your body shape. This is to be expected and is part of the performance. Normal body impressions (not greater than 1.5”) are not defects and are not covered by the warranty. Excessive body impressions of greater than 1.5” are covered by the Forever Warranty until…Forever.

How Long will the Mattress Last?

Given the construction and the fact that it is a denser foam mattress, I expect you can get around 7-8 years out of this mattress before you notice lasting impressions or lack of support. Since Nectar is a relatively new company it’s hard to say for sure but based on my experience with similar construction this would be my best guess.

Findings and What Makes it Unique

Here are some preliminary shots of the Nectar Sleep Bed:

It will slowly cradle you. Here’s a picture of my 14 lb. bowling ball:

sinkage

I also took off the cover to show you the inside of the Nectar bed and how it responds. This is one of the best you can get for pressure relief. Notice that it recovers slowly. The negative here is that changing positions will be a little more difficult but the positive is that I don’t think you will need to change positions at night because of how well it conforms.

Here’s a video of the quilted cover. This is what really sets it apart. It is a dense foam layer quilted into the covering. Quilting foam into the costs more from a manufacturing standpoint but it is well worth it. I haven’t felt anything quite like this before.

Below is a video illustrating heat retention. I was surprised at the result. Given it has a gel memory foam quilted into the cover, I expected much more heat retention. The reason it performed so well is that the cover is made with a Tencel fiber that is much more breathable than cotton. Added to that is a phase change material that draws heat away. Other ultra-dense foam mattresses I have tested don’t come close in terms of drawing away heat.

You don’t need to worry about waking up your partner at night. There’s virtually no motion transfer! Check out the video below. Keep in mind, if your partner tosses and turns at night, this will affect your quality of sleep as well.

Here’s another video showing how well it performs with motion transfer. In fact, my engineering team found this to be the best for isolating motion of all the mattresses they have tested. Sleep disturbances from your partner is a leading cause of poor sleep and Nectar addresses this head on.

Are there Complaints?

The biggest Nectar complaints that I have heard are the long wait times. Due to demand customers can experience waits over a few weeks before their product arrives. In my opinion, it is well worth the wait.

Does it have mattress have any Smell?

Again, since the Nectar is a denser foam mattress, it will be prone to more off-gassing. I think that’s because there’s simply just more material to off gas. You can expect the smell to go away after about 3-4 days with most of the smell dissipating within 2 days.

I often recommend opening the mattress in the morning so that it has all day to breathe before you sleep on it at night. If you are especially sensitive to smells, you may also want to open your windows. The smell is not permanent and will eventually go away.

How do you Return the product?

Returning is easy. If you find that you don’t like it within the 365 day home trial period, you just contact their customer serviced department and they will arrange pickup of the mattress. You do not have to put it back in the box and you do not have to pay return shipping. You aren’t out any money. It’s a clean break.

Nectar Mattress Review – Final thoughts

For the money, this is one of the best dense foam mattresses I have tried. It is made in China but I didn’t notice any major off-gassing. It is also Certipur Certified so the foams used in the construction are tested to be free of any harmful chemicals such as formaldehyde. This is extremely comfortable and I love how it conforms so well to your body.

A big complaint of dense foam is that they sleep hot. That’s because memory foam is an insulator and the denser the foam the more it will insulate. By incorporating a phase change material into the mattress ticking and quilting cooling gel foam into the top layer, Nectar has created a very innovative and effective to give you the best combinations of support, pressure relief, motion isolation and cooling.

So, how does Nectar compare to other brands? Check out this chart to see how it compares to other popular online and store brands.

I am very impressed with the quilted cover and I was very surprised at how quickly it dissipated heat. A queen size retails for $795 but with the $100 off sherpa100 coupon code, it brings the price down to $695 which is substantially less than others of this quality and construction.

One of the biggest complaints is when they launched was problems with back orders. I don’t think they quite anticipated how much demand there would be and therefore had a hard time keeping up. The company has now caught up on their back orders and you can expect to receive your package in about 10 days after placing your order.

Nectar was recently featured on The Talk with Sharon Osborne as part of their giveaways on October 9, 2017.

The Talk

Just recently in the news again. Giving TV talk show host Wendy Williams a free Nectar after her fainting spell during her Halloween Special and was again featured for a holiday giveaway…

Nectar Sleep Mattress Ratings

$670
9.4

Motion Transfer

9.7/10

Affordability

9.6/10

Softness

9.0/10

Off Gassing

8.8/10

Trial Period

9.7/10

Pros

  • No Motion Transfer
  • Excellent Trial Period
  • Generous Warranty

Cons

  • Delivery can be slow
  • Slow recovery

Learn more

Sherpa DealSleep Sherpa readers get the best deal on your mattress plus 2 premium pillows Activate  Here

Editor’s Note: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.

3 thoughts on “Nectar Mattress Review”

  1. How long after unboxing did it take to puff up all the way? I have had mine unboxed for about half a day and it’s a couple inches short still. Is this a bad sign or will it puff up in time? If I sleep on it before it reaches the recommended 11 inches do I risk messing up the bed?

    Thanks!

    1. Give it a full day. This is a really dense foam mattress. It won’t hurt to sleep on it while it is still expanding. If it isn’t fully expanded after a couple days, I would contact Nectar regarding a replacement.

  2. Motion Transfer

    10

    Affordability

    10

    Softness

    10

    Off Gassing

    10

    Trial Period

    10

    This is the best customer service EVER!

    I ordered NECTAR, loved it, but my wife could not adjust to it. She needs a firm firm firm mattress.

    NECTAR processed a full refund! No questions asked!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.