Frette Sheets Review

Frette

8.3

Softness

8.9/10

Durability

9.4/10

Breathability

9.0/10

Fit

9.0/10

Price

4.0/10

Aesthetics

9.5/10

Pros

  • Beautiful colors
  • Beautiful patterns
  • extremely well made

Cons

  • Very expensive

Editor’s Note: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.

I received a set of Frette Sheets for review. If you Google, “Luxury Sheets” you’ll find that Frette is usually at the top of the results, and for good reason.  I had the honor of being able to review a set of Frette Bicolore Sheets for this site. The retail price for a king size set is $1,295. Not something most people would purchase on a whim. Many people consider these sheets an investment and an heirloom. They have a timeless beauty to and have a reputation for durability. Since these are probably the most expensive sheets I will ever sleep in, I will be conducting a more in-depth review that will be updated over time to track the quality of the sheets.

History of Frette Sheets

Frette Sheets were established in 1860 in Grenoble France but soon relocated to Concorezzo Italy in 1865 and is currently headquartered in Monza Italy. It sells sheets to high-end hotels globally but only has 9 stores in the United States.

Frette sheets were found on the Titanic, the Orient Express and in the houses of royal families across Europe.

May 19, 2015

I received the sheets via FedEx today and they came in a nondescript brown box about 2 feet long and 1 foot wide.

Frette Shipping Box

 

Inside the box, however, was a beautiful Frette box with a hand-tied bow along with a personalized card.

Frette Box

 

Inside the box were the perfectly folded sheets as well as a plastic case for keeping the sheets when not in use.

Frette Sheets Box 2

 

The sheets are in the wash right now and will be drying soon. I hope to put them on tonight or tomorrow night for their first trial. I hear that it sometimes takes a few washes for them to soften up but I can say that they felt extremely smooth and crisp right out of the box.

 

Frette Update May 20, 2015

I washed the sheets today and put them on my bed. The first thing I noticed is that the fitted sheet has deep pockets which is great if you have a thick mattress or use a mattress pad. The Frette sheets are also a bit longer than my regular sheets. I think this is so that you can turn them down more to show the cool pattern.

After my first night on them, I found that they weren’t exceptionally smooth compared to my Cariloha bamboo sheets but I know that it takes a few washed before they get to their true feel. I will get a chance to use them next week when I’m back from a Memorial Day weekend trip and will be posting regular updates.

Shop Frette

Disclosure: We aim to highlight products and services you might find interesting, and if you buy them, we may get a small share of the revenue. I  have an affiliate relationship with Frette. 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Frette Sheets Review”

    1. The sheets are still holding up well both in terms of feel and color. They have softened even a little more after multiple washes. Still enjoying them although they do come out of the laundry very wrinkled. So, if you want smoother sheets, know that you will spend some time ironing or need to make sure they are folded right away out of the dryer.

  1. Softness

    9.00

    Durability

    10.00

    Breathability

    10.00

    Fit

    9.00

    Price

    2.50

    Aesthetics

    9.00

    I have Frette percale sheets and sateen pillowcases. The two types are very different. Percale is great for the summer (crisp and cool); sateen for the winter (silky and smooth). It depends on what you are used to and your personal preference. Multiple washings definitely helps with the softness factor but if softness is the most important quality, go with sateen.

    NOTE THE WASHING INSTRUCTIONS! Per the website, Frette recommends a cold wash and line dry. This was difficult for me as I have always been a hot wash (I’d boil if I could), hot dry kind of person, germophobe that I am. Hot water/hot dryer is NOT good for these sheets. This will likely reduce their longevity. Since the tag on my sheets states warm water is fine, I use cold water and dry on low/fluff dry. Sheets come out a bit wrinkled. I do not iron (anything). I try to get to the sheets as soon as the dryer buzzes but I fail most of the time. I shake well and smooth as I fold. Really, I think they look fine. Once the bed is made, they are mostly covered anyway. If you really want to iron something, iron the pillowcases.

    Frette offers generous sales during the year as well as an online outlet. For me, it’s the only semi-affordable way to buy their sheets. Mine did not arrive in the pretty purple box or plastic case–perhaps because my purchases were very much on sale.

    I love my sheets and pillowcases. The fitted sheets have deep pockets, as you indicated. If your mattress is not deep, the fitted sheet might not fit well. The top sheet is extra long but not as wide as one would think considering the price. Another 3+” on each side would be very welcome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.