dreamcloud review

Dreamcloud

9.3

Motion Transfer

9.5/10

Affordability

9.5/10

Softness

8.8/10

Off Gassing

9.0/10

Trial Period

9.5/10

Editor’s Note: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.

Sherpa DealSleep Sherpa readers get $200 off your Dreamcloud mattress with our exclusive coupon code: Sherpa200  Activate Here

 

The Dreamcloud mattress is a luxury hybrid mattress that breaks the mold. A few highlights of this mattress are stitched handles along the side, cashmere blend and flax yarns and a price of $1,399 for a queen size. Normally to get all these features in a mattress you can expect to pay north of $5,000.

To top it all off Dreamcloud offers a 365 night trial period where if at any point you want to return it, Dreamcloud will pick it up at your house for free. No need to put it back in the box or pay return shipping. After your year trial period expired, you are protected by Dreamcloud’s “Everlong Warranty” which is one of the strongest in the industry.

Overview of the Dreamcloud Mattress

Below is an unboxing video of the Dreamcloud. As you can see it comes compressed in a box but that doesn’t mean it is any less quality than other luxury hybrid memory foam mattress. New pocket coil technology allows for roll packing which saves on shipping costs and the savings are passed directly to the consumer.

Below is a video of me on the Dreamcloud. You will see that it has nice bounce and contains motion really well for having springs. It feels as good as it looks.

 

How Much Does a Dreamcloud Cost?

Here are the current prices of the Dreamcloud bed. These prices include the 365 night trial period code Sherpa200

SizePrice Without DiscountPrice With Discount
Twin$699$499
Twin XL$899$699
Full$1099$899
Queen$1299$999
King$1399$1199
California King$1399$1199
You can pay for the mattress in full or you can now finance it through Affirm.

How much does the Dreamcloud Mattress Weigh?

The Dreamcloud is a heavier mattress which is a good indicator of quality. Below are the dimensions and weights for each size.

TWIN 39” x 75” x 15” and 55 lbs
TWIN XL 39” x 80” x 15” and 68 lbs
FULL 54” x 75” x 15” and 88 lbs
QUEEN 60” x 80” x 15” and 94 lbs
KING 76” x 80” x 15” and 109 lbs
CAL KING 72” x 84” x 15” and 109 lbs

Construction of the Dreamcloud Mattress

Dreamcloud Layers

QUILTED EURO TOP

Introducing your dreamiest sleep ever. Our durable Quilted Euro Top offers unparalleled comfort and premium softness for maximum rest potential.

CONTOUR & COMFORT LAYER

With an ultra-plush feel, our Comfort Layer is made of a gel-infused memory foam to help relax the body and provide relief for pressure points.

SUPPORT LAYER

With all this plush comfort, our essential Support Layer helps provide resistance and a stable foundation for better body alignment and a deep, restful sleep.

POCKETED INNERSPRING COIL

This layer helps promote breathability and temperature regulation for cool comfort. It’s designed with edge support stability and helps reduce motion transfer for an unadulterated slumber.

BASE SUPPORT LAYER

This Base Support Layer provides extra stability to the much-loved Pocketed Innerspring Coil layer.

BOTTOM MATTRESS COVER

While much overlooked, the Bottom Mattress Cover has the important job of ensuring your mattress stays in the correct place and doesn’t move around while you dream.

 

My Dreamcloud Bed Findings

This mattress feels wonderful. It is a hybrid mattress which means springs and foam but it is so much more. Every layer contributes to the overall feel.  The quilted foam on the top layer really allows you to sink into the mattress without feeling like you are lying on a flat piece of foam.

You will also notice other quality details like handles stitched into the side of the mattress. This makes it easy to move and easy to rotate.

Dreamcloud Handles

This mattress feels plush and supportive. This is hard to achieve but I think Dreamcloud pulled it off by quilting foam into the top layer and then adding springs underneath. This allows you to sink somewhat into the mattress before being lifted up again by the responsive foam and spring system.

Here’s a picture that illustrates how much my 14 lb. bowling ball sinks into the mattress.

Dreamcloud Sinkage

What is the Dreamcloud Everlong Warranty?

Below are the highlights of the warranty as listed on their website”

WARRANTY HIGHLIGHTS

  1. For the first 10 years of ownership, we will replace your mattress with a brand new DreamCloud at absolutely no charge to you if defective in workmanship and materials. In years 10+ DreamCloud will completely repair and re-cover your DreamCloud, or replace your DreamCloud. All transportation charges will be waived if a manufacturing defect(s) or a materials failure is confirmed to exist.
  2. Your mattress must be used on an appropriate base such as a platform bed or other suitable bed frame.
  3. The warranty applies only as long as the original owner of the DreamCloud mattress owns the DreamCloud.
  4. The warranty does not apply if mattress has been burned or otherwise abused, damaged, misused, or neglected.
  5. In order to provide the most optimum sleeping surface the DreamCloud mattress contains only the finest quality materials. As with all premium sleep products, certain adaptations will take place as your mattress adjusts to your body shape. This is to be expected and is part of the performance of your mattress. Normal body impressions (not greater than 1.5”) are not defects and are not covered by the warranty. Excessive body impressions of greater than 1.5” are covered by the Everlong Warranty, well, Everlong.

My Dreamcloud Mattress Recommendation

The Dreamcloud is hands down one of the best values out there for a mattress. I haven’t come across a mattress that is built better than the Dreamcloud at this price point. I recommend the Dreamcloud to people that want a traditional mattress feel will all the benefits of newer generation foams and a quality spring sytem.

In terms of firmness, I would say it is about a 6 out of 10 on the firmness scale with 10 being the firmest. If you want a mattress with foam layers that recovers quickly, is breathable and contours well, this would be the ideal mattress for you.

People looking for a firm mattress or a dense foam feel mattress will want to look elsewhere.

At the Sleep Sherpa showrooms in Chicago and Minneapolis, customers are really enjoying the feel of this mattress and it is resonating well and definitely worth a try for people looking for a mattress with a more substantial feel that is going to last a while.

Learn more about the Dreamcloud

Sherpa DealSleep Sherpa readers get $200 off your Dreamcloud mattress with our exclusive coupon code: Sherpa200  Activate Here

64 thoughts on “Dreamcloud Mattress Review (Worlds Most Affordable Luxury Mattress?)”

  1. Do you know where the mattress is manufactured? Is it packaged on order and shipped or do they sit around boxed in a warehouse in Washington?

      1. That is not true, these are manufactured in Washington state. Nectar mattresses (which produces the dream cloud) are manufactured in China

          1. Thanks for the clarification… that’s a deal breaker for me. The mattress sounds good but I’d prefer one made in the USA.

    1. The Dreamcloud sleeps fairly cool since it has a spring system for breathability. The edge support is also good because of the springs which seem firmer around the perimeter. The tufting also helps a bit with breathability because it creates little valleys for air to channel through.

  2. Hi, I liked the mattress in your store. Is this mattress a Nectar mattress? If so I would be interested in purchasing one if you stocked them in your store, but I am still nervous about ordering one and then not knowing when it will be delivered due to Nectar often having long delays in shipping.

    1. Motion Transfer

      10

      Affordability

      10

      Softness

      10

      Off Gassing

      0.9

      Trial Period

      10

      We ordered the Dreamcloud mattress Monday evening (2/5/18) and received it on Thursday (2/8/18). We’ve been sleeping great from the first night we received it. Will definitely purchase again for our other mattress needs and will recommend to others.

    1. It took our breath away – My wife and I with our Adult son took us lot of effort to take the 94 LB matters from basement to the bedroom

  3. Motion Transfer

    9.5

    Affordability

    8.5

    Softness

    9.5

    Off Gassing

    10

    Trial Period

    10

    I received my Dreamcloud mattress a few days ago and the shipping was less than a week. The mattress feels amazing after sleeping on an innerspring for 10+ years. My roommate has the Alexander Hybrid and the Dreamcloud is a little firmer but just as comfortable for me as a side sleeper. I slept on his mattress several times and loved it but I am liking the Dreamcloud a bit more because of the cashmere cover and the firmness of it. We will see how it holds up and if I start to have problems I always have a year to send it back.

  4. I’m a 6’7” male around 260lbs. I have a nectar and have to change sides frequently as I caused a ditch on the one side. Do you think the dreamcloud will be able to handle my stature? I’ve had my nectar since July… and it surely cannot…

    1. I just asked this from DreamCloud live chat, and this is the response I got: “The DreamCloud actually does not have a weight limit thanks to the handtufted construction and use of medical grade foam.”

      1. Can you define “modern” box spring? Ours is 10 years old. When I talked to customer service at Dreamcloud, he said as long as the wooden slats are 3” apart, the mattress would work as designed. I assumed that meant the wooden slats that the box springs sit on? We added some to make sure they were all 3” or less apart. We have been sleeping on it a little over a week, and while it is super comfortable and I’m sleeping great, I am still waking up with back pain, in fact it seems worse now than before we got the mattress. Typically firm mattresses help with my lower back pain. So now I’m wondering if it’s the box springs.

        1. Basically, it needs to be on a firm surface. Old box springs actually had springs in them which made them bounce. I don’t think that is the case with your box spring though. I would try it on the floor if possible to see if that makes a difference.

  5. Thanks so much for keeping up this site! Great resource.

    Have you heard of any customer service issues with Nectar/Dreamcloud? They have a B- rating with the BBB, seemingly due to shipping issues.

    Also, I echo the question about about comparison to the Nest hybrids, and wonder how easy it is to change positions without a lot of bouncing.

    Thank you!

  6. The materials used are manufactured in China and assembled here in Washington state. Soo, boyh are right.

    1. The Dreamcloud feels sort of similar to the plush version of the Winkbed. However, the Dreamcloud is tufted and has more foam at the top layers. The extra foam makes you sink into it a bit more and is less bouncy given the tufting.

  7. Motion Transfer

    9.8

    Affordability

    9.8

    Softness

    6.8

    Off Gassing

    9.9

    Trial Period

    9.8

    I like how it is shipped in such a small package for such a large mattress when it expands.

    1. Who would handle the white glove delivery if I ordered that? I wouldn’t want to have to assemble this by myself. We are older and could not handle all of that. Would the white glove delivery also remove our old mattress?

    1. We bought the Saatva after funding the WinkBed too firm. I love Saatva’s customer service, but we plan to return the bed for the DreamCloud. I’m waking up with more back pain, and since we added the topper they sent when we expressed concern about pressure points, it sleeps too hot for me.

    1. Dreamcloud is considerably softer since it has more foam on the top and it has pocked coils for a base as opposed to the Helix which uses micro coils.

      1. Why not? I was hoping to purchase and use with an adjustable base. The manufacturers of adjustable bases claim they can be used with any mattress that can bend.

      2. They sell an adjustable base on the website for it. I also saw it mentioned a few times when describing foundations for their mattress.

  8. Why do you say not recommended for adjustable base when they sell an adjustable base? How does it compare softness wise to Beautyrest Hybrid Black Alcove or Gladney?

  9. Motion Transfer

    7

    Affordability

    9

    Softness

    5.5

    Off Gassing

    9.8

    Trial Period

    10

    I still haven’t made up my mind about the mattress. It seems a little too firm for my liking. I guess I would have to say it has good support but it certainly doesn’t seem to conform to my body. I thought it would with the memory foam at the top of the layers. We slept on it for a couple of months before we went to our winter home in florida. We will have more time on it when we get back in April. I was disappointed that it didn’t help me resolve my back pain. I am mostly a back sleeper. The verdict is still out.

  10. I am considering this mattress in addition to the Purple 3 or 4.

    I’m 6’4″, 325 and a stomach sleeper. I currently have a sleep number, which is a great bed, but I’m on my second air bladder and it’s also deflating, which causes back pain.
    My sleep number is 40 and am wondering if either would offer good support without being too firm.
    I travel a good bit and many hotel mattresses are WAY too firm giving me terrible back pain. (Cough, cough, Staybridge suites)

  11. Motion Transfer

    10

    Affordability

    6.9

    Softness

    6.8

    Off Gassing

    4.7

    Trial Period

    9.2

    We bought our dreamcloud 3 weeks ago and love it. I have never slept on a more comfortable mattress. I move a lot at night and it is great no matter what position I lay in. One of my biggest concerns was motion transfer and this has resolved that issue. I like a mattress to feel soft but I like to lay on top, this describes the dreamcloud. Also my husband does not like a memory foam mattress due to the lack of bounce. This hybrid is perfect. We are larger people and so far it is holding up great.It does off gas and kind of reminds me of a new paint or glue smell, it does not bother us.

  12. Motion Transfer

    9.4

    Affordability

    9.5

    Softness

    5

    Off Gassing

    9.4

    Trial Period

    10

    Hello,
    We recently purchased a Dreamcloud. I do not find it very soft at all. It seems like a luxury bed and looks very nice but I really want something softer. Can anyone make a side sleeper that doesn’t want to sleep hot a recommendation. It would be for myself and husband 110 and 180 lbs.
    Thanks

  13. Motion Transfer

    7.1

    Affordability

    7.4

    Softness

    9.1

    Off Gassing

    9.5

    Trial Period

    9.7

    We bought a DreamCloud six months ago. We found it to be high quality but far too soft for our liking. We began the return process 6 or 7 weeks ago. What a lack of service. I did everything they asked but I’m not getting my refund. Trying to get to talk to someone is extremely difficult. My advice is STAY AWAY from Dreamcloud. It’s a case of SALES and NO SERVICE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.