Brooklyn Bedding Review | aka #Bestmattressever 2
18

Brooklyn Bedding Review | aka #Bestmattressever

This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. For full details visit the disclosures page.


I was given a free Brooklyn Bedding mattress to review. Brooklyn Bedding started in 1995 as a factory direct mattress manufacturer and eventually evolved into an online factory direct mattress manufacturer that goes against the one size fits all philosophy for mattresses that others have adopted. Brooklyn Bedding offers some unique features and a  fresh choice when it comes to purchasing your next mattress online.

Ordering & Unboxing

Ordering the #Bestmattressever was simple and quick. You can choose from 3 different levels of firmness: soft, medium and firm. For this review, I received the soft. This is a departure from the one mattress fits all claim and gives consumers a little more choice. What’s nice though is that it’s not overwhelming or confusing.

Brooklyn Bedding offers a 120 trial period where if you aren’t satisfied with it, they will come and pick it up. I have heard that this applies only to the first mattress. If you were buy it then return it then buy a firmer or softer one and return that, there may be a fee associated with that.

Unboxing the #Bestmattressever was similar to all the other bed in a box mattresses I have reviewed. The box is sleek and stylish, sorry no swag like some of the others but that’s OK!

Brooklyn Bedding Uboxing

 

It should be noted that the bed is not folded as it is packaged and compressed. Why does this matter? Over time keeping the bed over on itself in the box can affect the integrity of the mattress. I was glad to see that Brooklyn Bedding did not do this.

reviews of bestmattressever

besmattressever review

As with all the other bed in a box type mattresses, the #bestmattressever “inflated” very quickly and was ready to sleep on in under an hour.

Findings

The Brooklyn Bedding mattress is true to size. I waited a day to take this measurement and it comes in right at 10 inches in depth which doesn’t include the lofty plush top. It is also true to weight, 100 lb for a queen size. This is one of the heavier mattresses I have reviewed.

depth of brooklyn bedding mattress

For the Brooklyn Bedding review and all other recent reviews, I conduct a test to determine how much bounce and motion transfer has. In comparison to all the other mattresses I have tested so far, this mattress has the most bounce. However, even though it has some motion transfer, it’s not all that bad. That’s because there’s still no springs. The bounciness comes from the latex top.

Notice how you can get bounce even will more subtle movements.

Since I was reviewing their “soft” level of firmness I expected some more give to the mattress, and that’s certainly what I got.

softness of brooklyn bedding

 

What makes Brooklyn Bedding bouncy is the layers of latex. Dunlap latex is firmer than talalay so that’s why it’s on the bottom. Notice that it is resting on a foam core made of hills and valleys, that gives it extra space to breathe, a very nice touch.

Check out the video from Brooklyn Bedding on their convoluted foam and why that makes their mattress superior to many on the market.

 

The best price I have seen for an 100% latex queen size mattress is $1,349 from Spindlemattress.com. So if you want to get the experience of a latex mattress but at a much more accessible price point, this is it.

bestmattressever inside

 

Conclusion

I slept well int he #bestmattress ever by Brooklyn Bedding. Even though it I slept on the “soft” level of firmness it was still adequate with support. If I had to choose again, I would go with the medium as the soft was just a little too much for my taste and not recommended for stomach or back sleepers.

The #bestmattressever from Brooklyn Bedding is a great choice for people who want the bounciness of an innerspring mattress but don’t want all the problems that come with them. This is a very high quality bed that should have lasting value given its materials. The company has a 10 year warranty against impressions that are greater than 1.5 inches. This is a strong warranty that they can easily live up to since latex is so durable.

Get 5% off your ENTIRE purchase at Brooklyn Bedding. CLICK HERE to activate!

Disclosure: We aim to highlight products and services you might find interesting, and if you buy them, we may get a small share of the revenue. I have an affiliate relationship with Brooklyn Bedding.

Brooklyn Bedding

Brooklyn Bedding
8.88

Motion Transfer

9/10

    Affordability

    9/10

      Softness

      9/10

        Off Gassing

        9/10

          Trial Period

          9/10

            Pros

            • Barely any off gassing
            • Affordable
            • Soft top layer
            • Ships to Canada ($250)

            Cons

            • some motion transfer

            Ben • June 16, 2015


            Previous Post

            Next Post

            Comments

            1. Joshua July 27, 2015 - 12:45 am Reply

              My wife and I are both under 145 lbs, and we found the Leesa to be too firm. We are thinking of going for the soft #bestmattressever. Have you been able to compare the two? I’d like to know how they compare in terms of firmness.

              • admin July 27, 2015 - 9:08 am Reply

                With #bestmatress ever, you can choose from 3 layers of firmness so you should go with the “soft” level of firmness. That is what I tested and it is softer than the Leesa with good support. I have not written a thorough Leesa vs Brooklyn Bedding review yet.

              • James July 27, 2015 - 9:23 am Reply

                I bought the soft and found it to be too soft for my taste. It is really soft! Most reviews seem to indicate the medium is still more plus then the Leesa although with the 120 trial period it’s easy enough to exchange it if it doesn’t work out.

            2. admin August 2, 2015 - 4:17 pm Reply

              I recommend the Alexander (medium firm) for your situation. It will support you and will still have some give to it for you and your partner.

            3. Liza Hecht August 13, 2015 - 12:04 pm Reply

              I bought the Essentia wanting to move toward as close to an organic mattress as possible, but I feel like I am sleeping on a futon and my back hurts. For 20 years I slept on a Chatham and Wells pillow-top and it was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Is there something that approaches that comfort that is also not too toxic? What would you suggest I do?
              Thanks very much!

              • admin August 13, 2015 - 12:12 pm Reply

                Brooklyn Bedding has 3 different levels of firmness. I tested out the soft level and it felt like a pillow top even though it doesn’t have one. Also they use top shelf materials so it won’t smell.

            4. EW August 13, 2015 - 1:47 pm Reply

              How would you compare the Alexander vs the Brooklyn side by side? They seem to be extremely similar in construction, but a few $ hundred different. What makes the Alexander worth $450 more (queen size)?

              • admin August 13, 2015 - 2:49 pm Reply

                The Alexander uses mostly memory foam while the Brooklyn Bedding #bestmattressever uses mostly latex. I don’t know how much it costs to manufacture either bed so couldn’t speak to that side but I can say that I prefer the feel of memory foam. However if you like a mattress with bounce you should steer towards the #bestmattresever.

            5. Da October 26, 2015 - 1:19 pm Reply

              Did the mattress start very firm and got softer as time went on? We got the mattress as a medium and finding it very firm. Was informed it would soften up but wanted to know if that is what you experienced?

              • admin October 26, 2015 - 5:36 pm Reply

                I would say it takes some getting used to. I didn’t think it softened up, it was just getting acclimated to it that changed. Since this mattress has latex, it is a different feel than a traditional inner spring or even memory foam. If you aren’t used to it, it will take a few weeks.

            6. Judy mundhenk January 11, 2016 - 11:06 pm Reply

              Softness

              9.6

              I usually like a firm matteress. I hve had back surgery and have degenerative disc . Also have fibroyalgia so need the support but also comfort. Wt 132 lbs, ht 5’6”.

            7. Skip February 22, 2016 - 2:37 pm Reply

              Beware! Seemed comfortable at first but has gotten steadily more and more uncomfortable. All my pressure points are back and the pain worsened the more I slept on it. Sleeps very warm. Tried to return but was just a few days outside the return policy. Staff very rude and unprofessional(Mario) They would not post my review on their website even though I am a “verified owner” Would not recommend, watch out!

            8. Naima May 5, 2016 - 12:39 pm Reply

              Motion Transfer

              4.7

              Affordability

              10

              Softness

              7.1

              Off Gassing

              1.2

              After lots of research, I chose the soft Brooklyn Bed, being that I like the plushy feel combined with the support that latex offers and that I am only 124#’s. I look forward to climbing into bed each night and sleep extremely well on this mattress. I have dealt with a “glitch” which was really my mistake (in ordering the foundation, which I mistakenly thought was wood, and when it turned out to be metal, they graciously took it back for no fee at all) and the staff were nothing but helpful. It’s a really beautiful, supremely comfortable mattress for those who like latex to begin with, that feeling of being both “held” and supported. Perfect for me. And I’m picky.

            9. Jeffrey Freedman November 17, 2016 - 7:12 am Reply

              I bought a mattress from Brooklyn Bedding (BB) in early September. When the king size mattress expanded, it seemed a bit small but I waited about ten days before contacting BB to let them know. It turned out that the bed was about 73″ wide instead of the standard 78″ wide. It wasn’t a big deal since I was not sure if I would be keeping the mattress so I told BB that I would contact them after the initial trial period. I contacted them in late October to let them know that I wanted to return the mattress as I would wake up every morning with a sore back (I purchased the medium bed). Based on the guarantee on their web site, I expected the return to be quite simple (I had purchased mattresses from Novosbed and Leesa and they were both super when I asked to return those mattresses since they were also not comfortable) but it has not turned out that way. Because I am located in Canada, I was told that I needed to contact a charity and get the charity to issue a donation receipt for the value of the bed and arrange for the pickup. None of this is posted anywhere on the BB site and if I had known this, I certainly would not have purchased the mattress. Even though I did not have to, I tried contacting a couple of local charities (like Habitat for Humanity) but they do not take mattresses as donations. I tried to get Paypal to help me since I used them to pay for the mattress but they did not help me at all so I have contacted my credit card company to ask them to dispute the charge. I just wanted to let everyone know that my experience with BB has been awful and I would never recommend anyone buy a product from them when they treat their customers like this. People should also check out some of the reviews at Yelp on Brooklyn Bedding. Hopefully, I can save someone else the grief of going through this kind of experience.

            10. JB December 6, 2016 - 7:05 am Reply

              One night with Brooklyn Bedding and my first impressions are firm and warm. Initially tried the Leesa and found it too firm, so I ordered the soft BB. Will give it a couple of weeks, but this may be going back. I will say, buying, packaging and quality are awesome. Mattress is thick and looks great. Came with 2 pillows (awesome) and sheets. Hoping it works.

            11. Adam December 12, 2016 - 2:15 pm Reply

              I usually prefer a firm, memory foam or firm pillow top innerspring mattress. How would a firm Brooklyn compare to those? I like a firm, supportive mattress with just the first inch or 2 being soft and cushy for comfort. What are your recommendations?

              • Ben December 12, 2016 - 8:39 pm Reply

                Given what you describe, I think the Firm Brooklyn Bedding mattress would be an excellent choice!

            12. Amanda January 14, 2017 - 1:29 pm Reply

              I was almost all set to pull the trigger on their #bestmattressever, but when I called to ask about the materials, and left messages on two separate occasions, they never called me back. The live chat rep I finally talked to then tried to mislead me, saying yes, the top talalay latex layer is “all natural materials.” When I clarified that that meant it’s 100% latex, she admitted that no, they use things like soy and ground seashells as filler. The bottom dunlop layer is more than half synthetic. Nowhere on the website is this specified, which I find misleading. So I posted a review to their website, because I think people deserve to know whether they’re sleeping on synthetic vs. natural latex, and quality of customer service is very important when spending this much money on a product you may need to return. THEY FILTERED MY REVIEW OUT. New 5-star reviews roll in every day, but the 2-star I wrote over a week ago is nowhere to be found. Emailed the manager asking what happened to my review, but (surprise surprise) I never heard back. Don’t trust this company – their “glowing” reviews aren’t accurate, and they are not transparent about materials used. I’ve just reported them to the BBB.

            Leave a Reply

            Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *